How To vote India

How To register for vote IndiaTo register for vote India offline, a person can apply offline as well as online. Check the full process of how to vote india here.

India is a federation with its parliamentary system, which works within the Constitution of India, and it is responsible for the distribution of power among central and state governments. The President of India is the supreme commander-in-chief for the defense forces in the country. The Prime Minister of India is the head of the political party with a majority of votes in the countrywide elections to the Lok Sabha.

Election Commission is the governing body that is responsible for conducting elections, monitoring, and administering the electoral processes of India. The information about every voter is available with the election commission, and EC ensures the safety of the electoral process.

How to register to vote india online

To apply for registration for a voting card online, follow these steps:

2. Select ‘Apply Online for Registration of New Voter’

3. A new window with form-6 will open

4. Fill up the form and click ‘Submit.’

 How to vote india

Voting is the most crucial factor of a democratic country as it gives the people the right to elect a government that is elected by the people and for the people of the country. The voting process can only be carried out if your name is present in the voting list. Voters can also get information about the polling booths, the contesting candidates, election dates and timings, and EVMs. A person can cast their vote only if they are registered with the Election Commission of India and have a valid voter’s ID.

The Process of Voting:

Polling official will check for your name on the electoral roll on the voter list and check the ID proof
Next official will apply ink on your finger and give you the slip and take your signature on a register which marks your presence
Deposit the slip to the third polling official and show inked finger and proceed to poll booth
EVM machines will have the symbol of the candidate of your choice, where you can record your vote by pressing a button. A beep sound will indicate that your vote has been registered
A slip appears in the window of the VVPAT machine which contains the candidate serial no., name and symbol which is visible for 7 seconds
In case you don’t like any candidate, you can press NOTA (None of the above)

How to register to vote india

If you’ve recently turned 18, then it’s time for you to get active and get some official documents ready for your future use. Once you turn 18, you become eligible to get a voting card, driving license, PAN card (Permanent Account Number). Here are the eligibility criteria to register to vote in India:

the person is an Indian citizen
the person is above the age of 18 years
is a resident of the part/polling area
not disqualified to be enrolled as an elector

Documents needed for the registration process:

Valid ID proof is required to submit, and the ID proof should be any government recognized photo identification:

Driving License
Aadhar Card
PAN Card
Student Identification Card
Valid Address Proof is also needed to make sure that the person is registered to the constituency that they belong to. The documents that can be used to submit as proof of residence are:

Bank/ Post Office current Pass Book
Ration Card
For age proof, birth certificate of the candidate can be submitted with these documents.

To register to vote in India offline, a person will have to Fill Form 6 in two copies along with a passport-sized photograph and photocopies of all the essential documents.

Different types of elections take place in the country, and these are:

1. Lok Sabha Elections (General Elections)
Every citizen elects members of Lok Sabha or the lower house of India’s Parliament with the election process. The votes are given to the respective candidate that they wish to give out of a set of candidates from their respective constituencies. The winner of the Lok Sabha elections is known as the Members of Parliament and hold the seat for five years.

2. State Assembly Elections
Members of State Legislative Assembly are elected by voting done by the citizens of the respective constituency. The candidates who win from their constituency are known as the Member of Legislative Assembly (MLA) and hold the seat for five years.

3. Rajya Sabha Elections (Upper House)
Rajya Sabha is the Council of States, and it is the upper house of India’s Parliament. The Members of Legislative Assemblies elect the candidates, and the President of India does the nominations for the candidates.